Nausicaa Of The Valley Of The Wind

One of my favorites of all time, I thought I should share this with you all, I unconditionally love this movie. It is directed by co-founder of Studio Ghibli Hayao Miyazaki. The plot is about a young girl named Nausicaa, the princess of a small kingdom named The Valley Of The Wind. 

The story takes place 1,000 years after the “Seven Days of Fire”, an event which destroyed human civilization and most of the Earth’s original ecosystem. Scattered human settlements survive, isolated from one another by the Toxic Jungle, a forest of giant plants and fungi swarming with giant insects, which seem to come together only to wage war on humanity. Everything in the Toxic Jungle including the air is lethally toxic. Although a skillful fighter, Nausicaä is humane and peace-loving. She has an unusual gift for communicating with the giant insects (particularly with the Ohmu, gigantic, armored, caterpillar like insects-who are the most intelligent creatures in the Toxic Jungle.) She is also noted for her empathy toward animals, humans, and other beings. Inspired by the Valley’s Lord Yupa, a wandering warrior possessed of great wisdom, Nausicaä frequently explores the Toxic Jungle. Yupa is searching for the mythological man in blue who, according to the legend, will appear surrounded by a sea of gold and reunite the people and nature.

(Released in 1984) The girl you see there is Nausicaa and she’s standing next a young Ohmu (pronounced Oh-m). Oh how I wish I had the DVD to this and mind you there are quite a couple other I love by Hayao Miyazaki, he’s my favorite film director.

Comments? Always appreciated.

~SAsammygirl

9 Responses to “Nausicaa Of The Valley Of The Wind”

  1. thanks for what you said on andrw’s blog. It really made me feel better. my adult cousin is goin gto try to work things out soon.

    • You’re welcome.

      After the things that happened long ago over at Roses (don’t know if you know her) blog, I never want to see another fight break out ever again. And I was reluctant to comment on the situation too, because nor do I ever want to be part of another fight again.

      Either way, if I do get involved, I vow to be the pacifist.

  2. Haha, speed reader.

  3. Sammy, you would be suprised. LOL I swear I did. :)

  4. coolio :) i found a website called http://www.booksie.com where you can write stories and publish them :)

Leave a Reply

